A Ship to cross the Sea of Suffering

"Real happiness is found in the struggles we undergo to realise our goals, in our efforts to move forward." Daisaku Ikeda

Fire and Theatre = excitement and exhaustion

A wee catch up on some of the things I am working on at the moment.

Just recently I have joined a youth theatre project, which is addressing issues of teenage drinking. Staged at an illegal after ball type scenario.

It’s an amazing piece of work. Devised, and site specific it takes the audience throughout many different stages and settings where they witness the after ball attendees experience a party in memory of a fellow student who passed away under the influence of alcohol.

My part is small but very important. In one scene some of the party goers are given dares, one of which is to commit an act of arson. Burn something that is not of their property. So they light a bike tyre on fire and my job is to supervise this process and once the audience has moved on to, take the bike tyre off and extinguish it. I love fire, so I am very happy to be paid to do this. The wheel has been made out of kevlar, a material which absorbs fuel very well (we are using performance grade fuel) like that which fire dancers use. I get to soak it in flammable liquid, watch it go up in flames three times a night, and deal with the extinguishing safely. Pretty awesome that of my years and years of fire experience, I can be hired to be the fire professional. I love it.

I am a very safety conscious person. So no need to worry at all.

So now, not only am I working 9-5, but also have a show every night for the next two weeks, That’s close to 14 hours a day now. So as expected I am a little flat in energy, and easing myself into a routine of this! Trying my best to sleep as soon as I get home. I am not one to be known to deal well with lack of sleep.

It will take a few days of adjusting, but at least I can truly support my partner as she is heading this project as the ambassador of the theatre company sponsoring it.

I had been feeling very agitated and frustrated with our lack of time together, so now that I have joined I can actually be of use! I can turn my time into one of productivity and ensure that I am able to best support her in what needs to be done.

We’ve always worked best this way. Working together in professional settings is one of our fortes. Something we both love to acknowledge as a serious contribution to our working and personal relationship. If anything it’s better when we are riding the same plane. We are more connected, and we both have a better understanding of what each other is involved in.

It has really helped me to understand her role, and find more value in the necessity of long hours and commitment that is really all consuming.

So yes that’s a bit of what I’ve been up to. Still chipping away at the anti bullying project funding but I really need to invest more time to this. Once the project is completed no doubt. Here is a picture of the scene location for the burning bike…. Enjoy xx

2013-07-23 21.20.00

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2013 by in Blogging, Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , .
CELESTIAL SPACE

An Astrology Blog by Dipali Desai, focusing on Spirituality, Healing and Self-Discovery for the evolving individual.

Monkeywrenching

Nandor Tanczos on politics and culture in Aotearoa New Zealand

supersoldiertalk.wordpress.com/

Milabs, Monarchs, Human Cloning

OUT OF THIS WORLDX

WE ARE SPARKS : ENERGY BEINGS FROM THE CIRCLE OF LIFE - Uncovering the untruth to reveal the truth

Keep Calm! There's a Feminist in the kitchen.

The adventures of a modern feminist reclaiming the kitchen and other stuff along the way.

gas

Georg Andreas Suhr – International Brand Consultant & Creative Director :: Berlin :: Beijing :: Bangalore

A Panda's Mind

Documenting my findings on this crazy planet

Kiwi Food Wonders

Lively and Honest Restaurant Reviews, Food Musings & General Domestic Godliness from New Zealand

twentysomethingconfessions

the secrets, struggles and successes of a twenty something

Halfway Around the Sun

Our adventures on Te Araroa

Lotus Calling

I will raise you from the darkness and you will be a light to many

VamPinterest

Vampires with disastrous private lives...

mishrapiyush

black swan fooled by randomness

Readefining

purpose fueled living

Dr Nicholas Jenner

Online Therapist, Author

