A Ship to cross the Sea of Suffering

"Real happiness is found in the struggles we undergo to realise our goals, in our efforts to move forward." Daisaku Ikeda

30 Days: A Letter to…Day#4

Hi there, welcome to my new followers 🙂 I really appreciate your support!

Today’s letter is focussed on a sibling or close relative. I have decided to address this letter to my half sister Teresa.

A Letter to…a sibling or relative

Hey sis,

It’s been six months since I last saw you… It doesn’t feel that long ago but our new years together was wonderful. I am getting used to your absence, but I wish it wasn’t for too long. You have found your calling, amazing work in the eyes of God. I am really proud of you and your determination to make the most of your life, and the gifts of healing and counsel you give people through the strength of your faith in the man upstairs.

It’s amazing how time fly’s by! And I know how busy you have been! there is always so much work to do, so many hearts and minds to save.

I guess at times I never really know what to say to you, because of how faithful you are to your religion. For some reason I feel as if I have to navigate differently because of your conditioning. Even at times, being worried of what you and your ‘god’ may think of me.But I know that is nonsense and I must let it go. I wish to be free of judgement for all. I too have faith, but we view the same coin with different lenses. Lenses of belief and of faith. What’s most important to me, is that we truly care and love each other for who we are on the inside. Religion aside, we are human first. Sisters second… and followers of spirit third.

I don’t want to rant about my feelings towards our beliefs! I am buddhist. You are Christian. Full stop. Even though some times I wish we could talk without god being on the tip of your tongue…

Oh look, here I go anyway. I wish that you believed that you were strong enough to do the work you do, without having to ‘need’ God to enable you. Your passions and mission lie within your heart, and you in fact from my belief… are god. You Are the mystic law… we are ALL part of spirit and spirit is part of us. Why is it that people only believe they are able to do something, so long as they lean into God? I don’t lean into God, I don’t lean into Buddha. I am Buddha.

Why can’t you believe that – this power inherently lies within you… be it called God, or Mystic Law, Buddha, which ever term you please. It is not something external  – it is something from within…

We are the ONLY ones in our entire family who have taken to religion. A philosophy, a way of life that enables us to live only for the betterment of humankind. I wonder if I never encountered Buddhism, whether I too would be a follower of God from your influence?

I certainly have witnessed a massive shift and change in you over the years, as you’ve spent more time overseas as a missionary. As have you, witnessed an even bigger change in me since my practicing began…It is beautiful. And challenging.

Challenging only because you are so far away, and never far from danger. Challenging because I fear for your mind… but that is probably wrong of me. For our hearts are in humanitarian realms. We are servers of the universe, servers of God. We are sisters, united through blood and consistency.

I guess, seen as I’ve gone way off track here – I want to bring it back to one simple thing, and that is: I love you regardless of our differences. I am so thankful for having you in my life. You have been such a shinning light of hope and love over the many years I’ve struggled with this life.

We are one in the same, but different. Certainly the most alike out of our siblings. And I really pride myself on being compared to you.  You are strong, you are passionate, you are motivated, you are pure, you are just such a precious soul with so much to offer the world and i revel in the fact that I too am following in similar footsteps.

We didn’t grow up together, and yes we have different mothers but yet my bond to you is just so unique. In fact, growing up an only child – I am still only really trying to understand how you and your side of the family really fits into my perspectives. How do I process a sisterly bond? I’ve never really felt like I’ve had a sister up until I hit my late teens. And I wasn’t in a frame of mind to be conscious of this up until the last year or so…

It was you. Visiting me from the age 18. No one else but you came to me…

I will always and forever hold that dear to my heart. The effort you made every time you had a day or so free, there you would be. coming to my shambles of a ‘home’ and taking me out to eat. Sitting with me in a park while I cried and told you how terrible my life was. You were there driving me, counseling me through all of the shit that plagued my early life. For which I’ll always be indebted to you for.

And here we are now. Countries apart… but close through heart. I am well, I am a person of faith and we sit together now sharing our journey’s. I am working to make you proud. I am working to be proud of myself, so that I can move forward once more. Following in the footsteps of a sister so rich in life and love.

A sister I miss terribly.

I love you, please come home soon!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2013 by in Blog Challenge, Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
CELESTIAL SPACE

An Astrology Blog by Dipali Desai, focusing on Spirituality, Healing and Self-Discovery for the evolving individual.

Monkeywrenching

Nandor Tanczos on politics and culture in Aotearoa New Zealand

supersoldiertalk.wordpress.com/

Milabs, Monarchs, Human Cloning

OUT OF THIS WORLDX

WE ARE SPARKS : ENERGY BEINGS FROM THE CIRCLE OF LIFE - Uncovering the untruth to reveal the truth

Keep Calm! There's a Feminist in the kitchen.

The adventures of a modern feminist reclaiming the kitchen and other stuff along the way.

gas

Georg Andreas Suhr – International Brand Consultant & Creative Director :: Berlin :: Beijing :: Bangalore

A Panda's Mind

Documenting my findings on this crazy planet

Kiwi Food Wonders

Lively and Honest Restaurant Reviews, Food Musings & General Domestic Godliness from New Zealand

twentysomethingconfessions

the secrets, struggles and successes of a twenty something

Halfway Around the Sun

Our adventures on Te Araroa

Lotus Calling

I will raise you from the darkness and you will be a light to many

VamPinterest

Vampires with disastrous private lives...

mishrapiyush

black swan fooled by randomness

Readefining

purpose fueled living

Boundaries of the Soul

Online Therapist, Author

