A Ship to cross the Sea of Suffering

"Real happiness is found in the struggles we undergo to realise our goals, in our efforts to move forward." Daisaku Ikeda

World Peace Chanting in Dedication to our Mothers

I was fortunate in having the opportunity to recite a poem alongside my partner in life, and sing a song in Japanese dedicated to all the Mother’s in the world at World Peace Chanting this morning. The song is a poem exert from Daisaku Ikeda, who wrote a larger version of the poem dedicated to his very own mother. 

It’s the first time both my partner and I have been on the Kaikan stage, and even more so a great cause to perform the poem and song alongside the magnificent brass band. The month’s theme is May 3rd, as it is a very significant date in the SGI calendar. It celebrates the inauguration of all three SGI presidents Tsunesaburo Makiguchi (1871 – 1944), Josei Toda (1900- 1958), and Currently Daisaku Ikeda over the course of the Soka Gakkai’s history. The day that all three presidents made a stern vow to work tirelessly for the sake of Kosen-rufu.

It also represents Sensei Ikeda’s wedding date, and the Soka appointed Mother’s Day!

Therefore finding myself being asked to contribute my voice and presence to represent some of the Youth Division, and to convey the true heart and spirit of the poem and song in their entirety – In the spirit of Mentor and Disciple . Naturally I was nervous, I can safely say I am not the best singer in town, and with the lingering cold and chest cough… I feared for those ears next to me.

I am truly glad that it was the heart of my contribution to our activities, and not that of my vocal chords! That mattered most. I actually thoroughly enjoyed myself – and it is nothing I’ve ever done before. But definitely something I’d do again.

The actual performance was brilliant, we all did so well and it was heart felt on so many levels. In harmony with the talented brass band, I spotted a few rogue tears. Whilst performing myself, I just felt over come with absolute joy, and pride in being asked to be part of such a personal song – One that is very close to Sensei’s heart.

So without, further adieu I present the song/poem by Daisaku Ikeda — Haha (Mother)

Haha(mother)

Haha yo Anatawa

Nan to Fushigina

Yutakana Chikarawo

Mo o tte Iruno ka

Mo shi mo ko no yo ni

Anataga Inakere ba

Kaeru Beki daichi wo

Ushi nai karera wa

Towa ni Sasura u

Mother, What wondrous, nourishing power you have!

Were it not for you in this world,

People would lose the earth to return to,

And wander for all eternity.

Haha yo Waga haha

Fu u se Tsuni ta e

Kanashimino Inori wo

Kurikae shita Haha yo

Anata no Negai ga

Tsubasa to Na a tte

O o Zora ni Mai Kuru

Hi ma de

Ta sha ni to Ino o ru

Mother, our mother.

Persevering through the storm,

You offered prayers in sadness.

I pray you will stay  in good health until the day

When all your wishes are fulfilled,

And, as though endowed with wings, you take flight

Toward the heavens.

Haha yo Anata no

Shi so o to Kashiko sa de

Haru o Nega a u

Chi kyu u No ue ni

Hei an no Shi ra be wo

Ka na de te ho shi i

*So no to ki Ana ta wa

Nin gen se i ki no

Haha to shi te iki I ru

*repeat

Mother, with you ideas and wisdom,

I hope you will perform a melody of peace on the earth,

Where people look forward to the arrival of spring.

Thus, you will become the mother

Of the Century of Humanity.

–Daisaku Ikeda

Leave a Reply

CELESTIAL SPACE

An Astrology Blog by Dipali Desai, focusing on Spirituality, Healing and Self-Discovery for the evolving individual.

Monkeywrenching

Nandor Tanczos on politics and culture in Aotearoa New Zealand

supersoldiertalk.wordpress.com/

Milabs, Monarchs, Human Cloning

OUT OF THIS WORLDX

WE ARE SPARKS : ENERGY BEINGS FROM THE CIRCLE OF LIFE - Uncovering the untruth to reveal the truth

Keep Calm! There's a Feminist in the kitchen.

The adventures of a modern feminist reclaiming the kitchen and other stuff along the way.

gas

Georg Andreas Suhr – International Brand Consultant & Creative Director :: Berlin :: Beijing :: Bangalore

A Panda's Mind

Documenting my findings on this crazy planet

Kiwi Food Wonders

Lively and Honest Restaurant Reviews, Food Musings & General Domestic Godliness from New Zealand

twentysomethingconfessions

the secrets, struggles and successes of a twenty something

Halfway Around the Sun

Our adventures on Te Araroa

Lotus Calling

I will raise you from the darkness and you will be a light to many

VamPinterest

Vampires with disastrous private lives...

mishrapiyush

black swan fooled by randomness

Readefining

purpose fueled living

Dr Nicholas Jenner

Online Therapist, Author

