A Ship to cross the Sea of Suffering

"Real happiness is found in the struggles we undergo to realise our goals, in our efforts to move forward." Daisaku Ikeda

In response to my previous post:

I have a head cold. Virus. Something I am trying to shake.

And this morning when I woke up, I read a few comments from my blog in attempt to distract myself.

One particular follower really inspired me. I have chosen to re-blog her post, and then to share what I remembered when I read her post.

The power of words is of unlimited ability.

And we must share our triumphs, our stumbles, our falls, and our humanity through pen –Through dialogue with one another.

It helped me ponder other analogies we use, ways in which we compare and liken ourselves to other parts of nature. For seventhvoice it was that of a pearl.

This slice of poetry and humanity made me remember the story of the Paua, which then turned into an explosion of analogies! The lotus flower that blooms from the mud, the bamboo that struggles against it’s self, and so on. As humans we find ways to express our natural suffering. Perhaps trying to find a way to justify our conditioning?

I believe that without these strong foundations in life generally forged through suffering and challenges — we are stronger. Shining our brilliance unto others, as a form of encouragement. Sharing our voices, and hardships in order to forge brothers and sisters of compassion and understanding. Widening our web of connections, and paving the way for others who struggle to follow in the path of light that you leave behind.

I no longer know if the story of how the paua got his beautiful inner shell is relevant. But because I went to the trouble of finding it, and pondering is deeper meaning. I feel inclined to share it anyway…

I endeavor to share the bamboo growth story with you too at a later date, xx

Enjoy:

Paua Te koha a Tangaroa – The Gift of the God of Sea

Long ago, a sea creature named Paua had no shell. One day, Tangaroa, god of the sea, noticed the difficulties this created for Paua and decided to create a special covering for him. Tangaroa said, “I will take from my domain the coolest blues of the ocean and ask of my brother Tane (god of the forest) his freshest greens. From the dawn you shall have a tinge of violet, from the sunset a blush of pink, and overall there will be a shimmer of mother of pearl.” With this, Tangaroa fashioned for Paua a wonderful coat that sparkled and dazzled with its beauty. But, alas, it was fragile and was soon broken by sea creatures envious of Paua’s new appearance. Seeing this, Tangaroa strengthened the shell with many more layers. Finally he added a camouflage coat to enable Paua to blend in with the drab grays and browns of the rocks. Then, Tangaroa charged Paua with the life-long task of adding layer upon delicate layer to his shell home, each a different hue and blend. So it was that Paua got his shell. To this day, he hugs the secret of his inner beauty to himself and only at the end of his life, when his empty shell washes ashore, is his artistry revealed.

Author: Mere, Whaanga

Translated by: Kereu I Whakamaori, Ngawini

2 comments on “In response to my previous post:

  1. This Web page
    May 5, 2013

    This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally
    I have found something which helped me. Many thanks!

  2. good advice
    May 9, 2013

    Hi to all, the contents present at this site
    are actually awesome for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

Leave a Reply

CELESTIAL SPACE

An Astrology Blog by Dipali Desai, focusing on Spirituality, Healing and Self-Discovery for the evolving individual.

Monkeywrenching

Nandor Tanczos on politics and culture in Aotearoa New Zealand

supersoldiertalk.wordpress.com/

Milabs, Monarchs, Human Cloning

OUT OF THIS WORLDX

WE ARE SPARKS : ENERGY BEINGS FROM THE CIRCLE OF LIFE - Uncovering the untruth to reveal the truth

Keep Calm! There's a Feminist in the kitchen.

The adventures of a modern feminist reclaiming the kitchen and other stuff along the way.

gas

Georg Andreas Suhr – International Brand Consultant & Creative Director :: Berlin :: Beijing :: Bangalore

A Panda's Mind

Documenting my findings on this crazy planet

Kiwi Food Wonders

Lively and Honest Restaurant Reviews, Food Musings & General Domestic Godliness from New Zealand

twentysomethingconfessions

the secrets, struggles and successes of a twenty something

Halfway Around the Sun

Our adventures on Te Araroa

Lotus Calling

I will raise you from the darkness and you will be a light to many

VamPinterest

Vampires with disastrous private lives...

mishrapiyush

black swan fooled by randomness

Readefining

purpose fueled living

Dr Nicholas Jenner

Online Therapist, Author

