A Ship to cross the Sea of Suffering

"Real happiness is found in the struggles we undergo to realise our goals, in our efforts to move forward." Daisaku Ikeda

Gosho is awesome

I need to chant more. This is an undeniable reality..

Thank goodness, through the study and reading I’ve been doing, the motivation is swelling.

Unfortunately for well over a month now, I’ve not been able to sustain my efforts. Mainly because of the Pilonidal (cyst on tailbone), and also from falling over on the first day of my new job…  Which left me with a mighty wound on my knee, of which now i am sporting a fascinating scab. Slowly but surely it is almost better now. And watching this wound heal has been amazing.

The human body is brilliant.

Anyway, Where was I? Oh yes – Being tough on myself for not chanting enough lately!

With these physical ailments I’ve not been able to kneel or get close to the ground at all, for that matter. So chanting hasn’t been as enjoyable, or enticing as it usually is when I can kneel in front of Gohonzon, kneeling before my inner Buddha with gratitude and focus, Breathing deep for the Daimoku ahead.

So I look forward to healing again. As I am heading into what appears to be my third lapse of pilonidal since February!!! — It wouldn’t be so bad, if it didn’t take so long to arrive, and then for the wound to heal. It takes approximately a fortnight for full recovery.

But the chanting must still continue, it is the only way I can overcome these obstacles. Even if I can’t practice how I want to…..

I know that it’s OK to sit or stand, especially in periods of illness – And I assume any effort to chant or study is better than none. — But it never feels enough.

I will need to increase my efforts so that I can continue to deepen my faith, and resolve to overcome these obstacles of illness, and fixed karma.

In the end everything feeds into each other.. Faith in the Mystic law, practice of one’s thoughts, actions and chanting gongyo morning and night — Followed by study. The pillars and solid foundation of Buddhism. Life..

As of late I have been reading and carefully noting parts of the lecture series by Daisaku Ikeda on “The Opening of the Eyes” Written by Nichiren Daishonin during his exile on Sado Island throughout the year of 1271 – 1272.

Aside from, “A ship to cross the sea of suffering” this gosho writing is one I have close to me at all times. And it will be one that I will ponder for many years to come, no doubt.

I am in awe of the time and historical context’s depicted in the Gosho, and lectures presented by Sensei.  What Nichiren endured in order to prove the Lotus Sutra’s teachings and fulfill his mission as the Votary of the Lotus Sutra – Is absolutely commendable. I am filled with gratitude, for the opportunity to have encountered the Lotus Sutra – Nam- Myoho-Renge-Kyo in this lifetime.

I feel inspired by the writings of the Daishonin — Who fought with his LIFE for the sake of the wisdom that lies within the depths of the Lotus Sutra. The knowledge that reveals anyone, and ALL people can surely attain Buddhahood in this lifetime.

Chanting Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo and having an appreciation and understanding, — exerting in Study efforts into the true mutual possesion of the ten worlds, and the true three thousand realms in a single moment of life. Gain entrance to your/our own happiness. Our Innate Buddhahood.

Hence the need for study in our practice..

But put simply, Buddhahood is a state of life, a state of mind – A perception of life and it’s phenomena. It is something ALL people can obtain, even if just for a single moment.  Though over time through practice we can harness this state of life for longer periods of time, and role model to other people searching for their happiness.

Finding Buddhahood is about building a very expansive state of life and happiness, filled with wisdom, compassion and courage. — Which allows us to think and act in response to our environment and individual situations – in a way that is ideally for the greater good and benefit to ALL involved. Even if the result is not something I could have hoped for, or could have dreamed to be possible.

I have found that in the end I’ve learnt to adapt and accept what is happening, without *too much* Resistance, and transform a poisonous situation into one of medicine.

Learning to take responsibility for my own growth, change in life and my human revolution…. in order to reach my own highest potential – and in turn always seeing the potential and Buddha nature in ALL people, irrespective of difference.

The Lotus Sutra is a truly wonderful teaching of equality and empowerment.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2013 by in The Lotus Sutra and tagged , , , , , , , , .
CELESTIAL SPACE

An Astrology Blog by Dipali Desai, focusing on Spirituality, Healing and Self-Discovery for the evolving individual.

Monkeywrenching

Nandor Tanczos on politics and culture in Aotearoa New Zealand

supersoldiertalk.wordpress.com/

Milabs, Monarchs, Human Cloning

OUT OF THIS WORLDX

WE ARE SPARKS : ENERGY BEINGS FROM THE CIRCLE OF LIFE - Uncovering the untruth to reveal the truth

Keep Calm! There's a Feminist in the kitchen.

The adventures of a modern feminist reclaiming the kitchen and other stuff along the way.

gas

Georg Andreas Suhr – International Brand Consultant & Creative Director :: Berlin :: Beijing :: Bangalore

A Panda's Mind

Documenting my findings on this crazy planet

Kiwi Food Wonders

Lively and Honest Restaurant Reviews, Food Musings & General Domestic Godliness from New Zealand

twentysomethingconfessions

the secrets, struggles and successes of a twenty something

Halfway Around the Sun

Our adventures on Te Araroa

Lotus Calling

I will raise you from the darkness and you will be a light to many

VamPinterest

Vampires with disastrous private lives...

mishrapiyush

black swan fooled by randomness

Readefining

purpose fueled living

Boundaries of the Soul

Online Therapist, Author

